Stirling engine coolers-practical for limited budgets?

Moderator: stan.hornbaker

Forum rules
Be nice!
hounds51
First Name: Michael
Last Name: Lee

Stirling engine coolers-practical for limited budgets?

Post by hounds51 »

As a newbie to the world of Stirling engines (I read an article on
them for use with liquid cooled computers), would a model Stirling
engine be capable of generating enough cold to cool a small tank of
fluid (.5-1.0 liters)? Has there been any any commercial company
actually working on this kind of thing (where the cost of such a
system might actually be affordable)? The other articles I have read
have pointed out the lower power consumption (compared to Peltiers),
faster colder temps, low cost and high reliability. I have seen all of
the above points except the lower cost ($290 is as low as I have seen
which I find rather high for trying to use the Stirling in a practical
manner as some of us have limited budgets). I am not an engineering
type but it seems this should have good practical and commercial
potential.
stan.hornbaker
First Name: William S.
Last Name: Hornbaker

Stirling engine coolers ...

Post by stan.hornbaker »

There being a wide variety of model Stirling engines a suitable candidate would have to be selected. A Stirling engine driven by and electric or other mechanical power source would/could cool a small tank of fluid. I would ask why would you want to go to so much trouble to do such job when simpler and more economical soulutions are available? Have you considered how much actual demand would exist for your application? Other considerations such a cold temperature to be attained, amount of fluid, or number of tanks to be cooled in a given time, all would affect the problem and its solution.

Consider the old saw: "Do nothing simply if a way can be found to make it complex and wonderful."

Perhaps you would like to clarify or elucidate on your inquiry .... ?
prof3ssor
First Name: Joe
Last Name: Watkins