Moderator: stan.hornbaker

Forum rules
Be nice!
djohns00
First Name: Dan
Last Name: Johnson

Solar Powered Ceramic Stirling Senior Project

Post by djohns00 »

I am a Junior Engineering student at Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo CA.
My goal is to prototype my solar ceramic Stirling engine design. The
only problem is that there are no professors even remotely familiar
with Stirling engines. This is terribly frustrating and I am mainly
searching for some help verifying my design's worthiness. I work at
the California Energy Commission during the summer, but don't find
much help either due to fear of patent infringement. I feel this
design will work and I am hoping to patent it later on. If anyone
has any information concerning protecting my design pre-patent, I
would be very appreciative. Thank you -Dan
stan.hornbaker
First Name: William S.
Last Name: Hornbaker

Response to Solar Powered Ceramic Stirling Senior Project

Post by stan.hornbaker »

The best information I have found up to now:
A pre-patent disclosure should be executed for for your protection.
Consult with a reliable patent attorney for advice and assistance.
davidorr
First Name: David
Last Name: Orr

Post by davidorr »

Sent an answer two days ago; it has not appeared yet. I am registered with US Patent Office (registration number 44,988). Best to file a provisional patent (cost $80). It will give you patent pending status and protection for up to 1 year. Primary requirements: An enabling disclosure- meaning: (1) labeled drawings showing all parts and their relationships; and (2) a description of how the parts work together to function as an engine. I am happy to give you additional advice and help (no cost, of course) if you are interested.
David Orr
davidorr

Post by davidorr »

I feel it necessary to add some additional information.