Moderator: stan.hornbaker

Forum rules
Be nice!
mcfish2004
First Name: Mike
Last Name: Stuart

General questions from a new guy.

Post by mcfish2004 »

1.Is there any limit to the size a Stirling Engine can be built?
2.Does the temperature difference matter in total output power?
3.Does the type of metal used to construct the engine matter?

I would appreciate any responses to the questions anyone could give.
I'm just getting started in my new hobby and could use all the info
I can get.
info74
First Name: Brent
Last Name: Van Arsdell

Response to General questions from a new guy.

Post by info74 »

1. I don't think there is a theoretical upper limit on power in a Stirling engine. 2. The bigger the temperature difference the easier it is to get power out of a small engine. In other words to put out any significant amount of power an engine running on small temperature differences would have to be physically very large. 3. The place where metals are critical is in the hot side of the engine. If you are going to build an engine that puts out a significant amount of power you will probably want to build the heater head out of at least a good grade of stainless steel and perhaps a more exotic metal like Inconnel or Hasteloy.

If you're interested in building models, where the main function is beauty and "does it run" then high-temperature metals are probably not required

If you're interested in power producing engines you really should read The Philips Stirling Engine. Unfortunately this book is incredibly expensive and also hard to find. I think it still is technically "In Print" but the publisher doesn't try very hard to sell them.
ijgordon
First Name: Ian
Last Name: Gordon

Post by ijgordon »

I'm interested in a related question. If the Stirling engine works on a temperature differential then if the cold end was 'really' cold then the hot end wouldn't need to be that hot in order for it to generate power, would it?
atc
First Name: Terry
Last Name: Russell