First Name: Hernan
Last Name: Ciechanowiecki

Stirling Engines in Cars?

Post by hciech »

I am a University student and recently learned a bit about Stirling
engines. My professor mentioned using Stirling engines in cars. This
would be a great idea. Low power output, but a lot less pollution. My
question is the following: Can a Stirling engine be made to vary in
velocity and power output by simply pressing on a pedal?

I asked my professor and he was unable to answer. I figured maybe
someone here may know a little more.
info74
First Name: Brent
Last Name: Van Arsdell

Response to Stirling Engines in Cars?

Post by info74 »

Stirling engines can be built that will vary their power output just as quickly as a car's engine but they tend to become complex when designed for that goal. You probably have already read the FAQ on this subject so let me elaborate.

NASA and Ford (among others) built Stirling engines for cars back in the 1970's. To get the good "driveability" that people are used to while keeping the engine efficient, they had to add very complex methods for pumping helium though the engine.

It's easy to build Stirling engines that can vary their power levels both slowly and efficiently, or quickly and innefficiently, but to vary the power levels both quickly and efficiently tends to require a lot of complexity.
tomick
First Name: Mick
Last Name: Viner

Post by tomick »

What seems to make the most sense to me is to run the Stirling in a hybrid configuration. Let it run at its optimal RPM and use it to run a generator. The generator would keep batteries charged. The rest of the car would be a normal electric drive train.
Low power output would not be an issue, as the motor(s) would pull as much power as needed from the batteries, not the Stirling directly.
You'd get a lightweight car with great milage.
info74

Post by info74 »

Mick you are absolutely right that a hybrid is the only practical use of a Stirling engine in cars.